Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

Deactivation preserves data.

Deletion erases data.

People usually shut down profiles for privacy reasons, so deactivation will rarely be of any use to them; they are better off trying to manually delete their content, while they still have a semblance of write access in that regard.

Deactivation works in some instances on a hypothetical level, but people tend to leave a service, because they don't trust it, which leaves that option moot.



Deletion erases data.

Yeah, I'm sure it does...




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: